The Republic of Srpska

The Republic of Srpska is one of the two equal entities composing the state of Bosnia and Herzegovina. It is located in the South East Europe and at the western part of the Balkan Peninsula.

It was established on January 9, 1992 by a Decision of the Assembly of the Serbian People in Bosnia and Herzegovina, and has been internationally verified by the signing of the General Framework Agreement for Peace in BiH in 1995.

The Republic of Srpska covers an area of 25,053 square kilometers and according to the Institute of Statistics of the Republic of Srpska data and according to the 2013 census, there are 1,170,342 inhabitants in the Republic of Srpska.

The Republic of Srpska is territorially organised into 8 cities and 56 municipalities. The list of the cities and municipalities can be viewed on the official website of the Government of the Republic of Srpska, the Ministry of Administration and Local Self-Government.

The administrative centre and largest city in the Republic of Srpska is Banja Luka.